Barracuda

art-353-Chris-Tsiolkas-Barracuda-300x0I feel it would be disingenuous of me to review Barracuda, the latest novel by Australian author Christos Tsiolkas, seeing as how it is dedicated to me.

But what a book it is.

Barracuda is the story of Danny Kelly, a working class boy born to a Greek-Australian mother and father of Scottish ancestry, who has the makings of a swimming champion. Danny wins a scholarship to an exclusive private school, where among the ‘filthy rich’ and the ‘golden boys’, he feels his outsider status acutely. He invests everything in winning, in being the strongest, the fastest, the best. But Danny fails. And with failure comes violent rage, followed by crippling shame. Danny has to ‘discover his taste and his desire anew’ — to figure out how to be a good man.

I was familiar with the main events and the shape of the story from having read an early draft. But this did nothing to diminish my experience of reading the finished novel. There were times the writing took my breath away, when I had to put the book down and take a moment.

I want to say I was immersed in this book, but because it is called Barracuda and it is about a swimmer, I don’t want that to sound like a bad pun. In fact, Tsiolkas himself draws a parallel between immersion in water and in reading when describing Danny’s post-school discovery of books:

Danny had discovered…that books did not exist outside of the body and only in mind, but that words were breath, that they were experienced and understood through the inseparability of mind and body, that words were the water and reading was swimming. Just as he has in water, he could lose himself in reading: mind and body became one.

Christos is on the record as crediting me with inspiring this book because I challenged him to write from the part of his character I know to be humane and deeply compassionate. He said in a recent interview: ‘[Angela] was the one who said, “You are a humanist, you really care about questions of compassion and empathy. Your novels have shied away from really, kind of, you know, just creating a good character.”

This was not, as he goes on to explain, a reaction to the unlikability of his characters in his wildly successful previous novel The Slap. Rather I was challenging Christos, who I know works at being a good man, to write about that.

It was an unexpected honour when he chose to dedicate the book to me.

For less subjective takes on Barracuda, try this review by Demet Divaroren, who says:

Reading Barracuda is like treading on a stony shore. It crashes into our consciousness like waves and unsettles us, challenges everything we are. It is unflinching and exposes the in between spaces of Australian society.

Or this review by Peter Craven, who writes of Barracuda

It swims, it soars, it is full of sap and feeling. It will enrage you, it will engage you, and it will fill you with pity and wonder.

Barracuda by Christos Tsiolkas (2013) is published by Allen & Unwin.

About Angela Savage

Angela Savage is a Melbourne-based crime writer, who has lived and travelled extensively in Asia. Her first novel, Behind the Night Bazaar won the 2004 Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an unpublished manuscript. She is a winner of the Scarlet Stiletto Award and has thrice been shortlisted for Ned Kelly awards. Her third novel, The Dying Beach, was also shortlisted for the 2014 Davitt Award. Angela teaches writing and is currently studying for her PhD in Creative Writing at Monash University.
This entry was posted in Reviews & Interviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Barracuda

  1. araneus1 says:

    Wow.
    I was once standing next to the head coach of the Melbourne Tigers juniors while watching the Australian mens team practice at the old Albert Park Stadium. The national team coach saw us standing there and stopped the training session and ran across the court to talk to my elderly head coach. When the conversation was at an end I said to my coach, “That is my goal in life. I want the national team coach to stop training because he wants to speak to me.” So far it has not happened, but I have to say that having Christos Tsiolkas dedicate a book to you comes pretty close.
    Respect.
    Terry

    Like

    • angelasavage says:

      Loved your story, Terry! Here’s hoping you do stop the national team in its tracks one day.

      Having a book dedicated to me by Christos Tsiolkas is something I will always be able to count on when, in my dotage, I try to figure out what good I did with my life 😉

      Like

  2. Angela – Congratulations! And Barracuda sounds like a really compelling read. And I love it that Tsiolkas created an essentially good character. That’s not easy to do and really be both engaging and credible.

    Like

    • angelasavage says:

      Margot, Christos’ speciality as a writer is that he creates highly flawed characters – Danny Kelly included. His genius in Barracuda is that Danny is redeemed without resorting to cliche nor mawkishness.

      Like

  3. As you know, I have always been quite partial to characters who aren’t likeable – but I agree that writing an essentially good character seems to require a lot of writerly skill. Can’t wait to read it (and see that dedication).

    Like

    • angelasavage says:

      As I said in the comment above, Kirsten, I think Christos’ genius as a writer is that he can transform a character as flawed as Danny Kelly into a better man in a way that is utterly credible and without sentimentality. Can’t wait to hear what you think of Barracuda.

      Like

  4. Pingback: My year of reading 2013 | Angela Savage

What do you think?

