Emerging Writers’ Festival

Australia DayI recently had the great pleasure of hearing Melanie Cheng speak at the opening of the Emerging Writers Festival. Her speech was just what I needed to hear that night, an exhortation — albeit modest and self-deprecating — to persist with writing, to not let yourself be defeated. I met Melanie later that night and read her award-winning collection of short stories, Australia Day, over the following week. Again, it felt like almost magical timing: Melanie’s thoughtful, often sparkling stories were just what I needed. Since she has blogged her EWF address, I’m taking the opportunity to share it here so that other writers might feel inspired, as I did. I also highly recommend Australia Day for inspiring, beautiful and intelligent writing.

Melanie Cheng

2017 06 14 EWF Opening night - Melanie Cheng, Kaz Kilmore-Barrymore, Cat....jpg

Last month I had the privilege of speaking at the opening night of the Emerging Writers’ Festival. This is a transcript of my speech.

Thank you Izzy and congratulations Christian, you have a wonderful ride ahead of you. First and foremost I would like to acknowledge the Wurundjeri people who are the traditional custodians of the land on which we have gathered tonight. I pay my respects to Elders past and present and I extend that respect to other Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people who are in attendance tonight.

It’s hard to believe it’s been one year since I stood on this stage and accepted my award. If you had told me in early 2016 that I would have a book coming out in 2017, I never would have believed you. But I never would have believed that Donald Trump would be president of the United States either. Real…

View original post 846 more words

About Angela Savage

Angela Savage is a Melbourne-based crime writer, who has lived and travelled extensively in Asia. Her first novel, Behind the Night Bazaar won the 2004 Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an unpublished manuscript. She is a winner of the Scarlet Stiletto Award and has thrice been shortlisted for Ned Kelly awards. Her third novel, The Dying Beach, was also shortlisted for the 2014 Davitt Award. Angela teaches writing and is currently studying for her PhD in Creative Writing at Monash University.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Emerging Writers’ Festival

  1. That was a case of great timing, Angela. And the festival sounds terrific. I’m glad to hear you two had the chance to meet.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for sharing this Angela.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kathy d. says:

    Great respect to you for thanking the Indigenous people upon whose land you were standing. That is exemplary.
    I wish people over here would do the same thing.
    And so glad you had a wonderful time at that festival and met Melanie Cheng.

    Like

What do you think?

