Crime writing & Festivals Part 2

The third weekend in November presents me with an embarrassment of riches. Friday, I’m in Geelong for the annual Word For Word Non-Fiction Festival, and Saturday in St Kilda for the Sisters in Crime Australia SheKilda 3: One Day Crime Spree.

As paword-for-word-logort of the Word for Word Festival, I’m running a workshop on ‘Showing and Telling’ as follows:

Showing and Telling
Friday 18 Nov, 10.00AM – 1.00PM, Waurn Ponds Library
Writers are often told, ‘show, don’t tell’.  While ‘telling’ is useful, even necessary, most people don’t realize how vital ‘showing’ is. Showing allows the reader to follow the author into the moment and experience it as though they are present. Using the proper balance of showing and telling will make your writing more interesting and engaging. In this workshop, award-winning writer Angela Savage will take you through a series of exercises designed to make your writing more vivid and alive.

Cost: $50 adult / $40 conc. Bookings here. The whole program is worth checking out.

shek3-bookmark-bannerI have a couple of enviable tasks at SheKilda 3, chairing a fabulous panel in the morning and, in the afternoon, compering The Great Debate, which features some of my favourite people crime fiction writers.

Domestic Noir: Ambivalent mothers, disappearing daughters, murderous marriages
Sat 19 Nov, 11.30AM-12.30PM, St Kilda Town Hall
Compere: Angela Savage
Panel: Honey Brown, Anna George, Wendy James

The Great Debate… Dames vs Dicks: Men should stick to hardboiled; women should stick to cozies
Sat 19 Nov, 4.00PM-5.00PM, St Kilda Town Hall

Compere: Angela Savage
Dames (Affirmative): Vikki Petraitis, Leigh Redhead and Sue Williams
Dicks (Negative): Robert Gott, Andrew Nette and Jock Serong

I’ll be participating all day Saturday at SheKilda, from Prof Sue Turnbull’s keynote address on the state of women’s crime writing at 9.30AM, to the 23rd Annual Stiletto Awards at 6.15PM, when Sue will be in conversation with Nicole da Silva, star of Wentworth and Rush. Nicole will present the Scarlet Stiletto Awards, after which Kerry Greenwood will present a special Silver Stiletto to mark the 25th Anniversary of the Sisters in Crime Australia. The Silver Stiletto short story competition was open only to previous Scarlet Stiletto winners–all 17 of us.

The complete, action-packed SheKilda 3 program is here.

About Angela Savage

Angela Savage is a Melbourne-based crime writer, who has lived and travelled extensively in Asia. Her first novel, Behind the Night Bazaar won the 2004 Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an unpublished manuscript. She is a winner of the Scarlet Stiletto Award and has thrice been shortlisted for Ned Kelly awards. Her third novel, The Dying Beach, was also shortlisted for the 2014 Davitt Award. Angela teaches writing and is currently studying for her PhD in Creative Writing at Monash University.
This entry was posted in Literary Festival and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Crime writing & Festivals Part 2

  1. I only wish I could be there, Angela. I know I’d learn a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes I am with Margot. I wish I could be at the Showing and Telling workshop on Friday, Angela. Enjoy all the events. Louise

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kathyd says:

    Oh, gosh, what fantastic panels. I wish I could hear them — which brings me to this key question. Are there videos posted of these panels? I watched and heard the Dames vs. Dicks panel last year and couldn’t breathe as I was laughing so hard, I mean out loud.
    But I see you are the facilitator and your partner is on the panel. So, this must be
    even more hilarious Any way to watch this one and any of the others?
    I will gladly ship a book from here to Oz in appreciation.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Kathy,
      Thanks for dropping by. The Great Debate this year was even funnier than the last one – and my partner Andrew was particularly funny. There was video taken and as soon as it’s available, I will post the link.
      Thanks for your message as it galvanised me into posting a summary of the SheKilda festival, which was really enjoyable. The photos of the audience reaction to the debate are priceless!

      Like

  4. kathy d says:

    I saw the photos. That’s the state I was in watching the Dicks vs. Dames panel last time. I will breathlessly await the posting of those videos. Cannot wait.
    So glad you all had a great time, panelists, facilitators and audience.
    There is nothing better than some good, strong laughter at a time like this over here.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

