Introduction to Crime Writing

Thursday 14 April from 6.00-8.30pm, I’m delighted to be conducting a workshop, ‘Introduction to Crime Writing’, for Yarra Plenty Regional Libraries at their Watsonia branch, 4-6 Ibbottson Street, Watsonia, as part of their Write and Publish Makerspace program.

Here’s the course description:

Crime fiction appeals for its compelling plots, vicarious thrills and flawed characters; and also because, unlike in real life, justice is (usually) served.

Combining input with practical writing exercises, this workshop will introduce you to the elements of a thrilling crime read. You’ll learn how to:

♦  Find ideas for crime stories
♦  Develop convincing characters
♦  Plot and structure your story
♦  Set a cracking pace

You’ll also be encouraged to consider broader questions of crime and justice that underpin crime fiction. A list of recommended crime fiction reading and resources will be provided.

In addition to course handouts, I’m also offering book prizes for the most original responses to the writing exercises.

Places are limited, so please book ahead if you’d like to attend. Details are here.

 

 

About Angela Savage

Angela Savage is a Melbourne-based crime writer, who has lived and travelled extensively in Asia. Her first novel, Behind the Night Bazaar won the 2004 Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an unpublished manuscript. She is a winner of the Scarlet Stiletto Award and has thrice been shortlisted for Ned Kelly awards. Her third novel, The Dying Beach, was also shortlisted for the 2014 Davitt Award. Angela teaches writing and is currently studying for her PhD in Creative Writing at Monash University.
This entry was posted in Angela Savage and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Introduction to Crime Writing

  1. hellovic says:

    Hello Angela
    I really would have loved to come to this but it is a slightly too long commute from the UK. If you are going to do this again next year please let me know.
    Vicki

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki, much as I would love to come and deliver the workshop in the pub, it’s rather too long and too expensive a trip for me, too. But when you get back to Oz, see if you can convince your local library to host me (fees negotiable). I’d be happy to come to your part of the world to deliver my Introduction to Crime Writing workshop.

      Like

  2. Oh, you are the perfect choice for this, Angela!! So glad you shared this, and I’m sure it’ll go brilliantly. I hope you’ll post about how it went.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jo says:

    Oh, I wish I could be there…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Olgamary Savage says:

    Good luck for tomorrow night – love the promo. The word I was trying to think of when you were here was parkour check it on U tube Hope the fete goes wellMutti x

    Like

  5. Incredible!
    I started blogging this month, and it is a pleasure that I came across your blog.
    It has inspired me to start my next article.
    Thank you:)

    Like

What do you think?

