How crime writers get into the Christmas spirit

ebook BTNBChristmas came early for me last weekend when Graeme Blundell included my novel The Dying Beach among his top crime picks for 2013, alongside books by James Lee Burke, Garry Disher, Michael Robotham, Ian Rankin and Ace Atkins.

The Dying Beach also made the Adelaide Advertiser’s top crime reads of 2013, again with Disher and others including David Whish-Wilson, Robert Harris, Jo Nesbø and Åsa Larsson.

ebook Half-ChildI was also thrilled to see The Dying Beach on David Whish-Wilson’s list of crime picks on Pulpcurry; and über crime fiction blogger Margot Kinberg also gave it an honorary mention in the same series.  Meanwhile, Mrs Peabody includes my debut novel Behind the Night Bazaar on her list of Christmas gift ideas.

If it’s true we are judged by the company we keep, I couldn’t be happier (reservations about Jo Nesbø notwithstanding).

ebook Dying BeachWhile on the subject of Christmas spirit, if you have a few minutes to spare over the holidays and have enjoyed reading one or more of my novels in 2013, please consider posting a review — a couple of lines will do — on goodreads, Amazon, Australian Women Writers, your blog, wherever all good book reviews are found.

I’m happy to reciprocate — read on to see how.

If you are a fellow author, I will review your book(s) — just leave the relevant link(s) in the comments section to where you’d like the reviews to appear. (Check first to see if I’ve already reviewed your book on this blog and if so, nudge me to copy to other sites).

If you are an aspiring or emerging author, I will do my best to answer up to three burning questions you have with regards to getting read, published and/or edited. Just leave them for me as a comment.

If you are a reader, tell me — again using the comments section — what kinds of books you love and I’ll leave you up to three recommendations for your TBR pile.

If you have an alternative idea for how I might reciprocate, let me know. As long as it doesn’t involve housework, pet care or prayer, I’m open to suggestions.

You can leave your reviews here:

Behind the Night Bazaar on Amazon
Behind the Night Bazaar on goodreads

The Half-Child on Amazon
The Half-Child on goodreads

The Dying Beach on Amazon
The Dying Beach on goodreads

And add your reviews to the 2013 Australian Women Writers challenge here.

Remember you can copy the same review to multiple sites.

Of course, as I am reminded by Bernadette, if you are not into writing reviews but do enjoy my novels, feel free to let others know via old fashioned word of mouth or its high-tech equivalents, Facebook, Twitter and comments on blogs.

HUGE thanks to those who have already reviewed one or more of my books on these sites and/or spread the word among friends and colleagues. I am indebted to you.

Remember, a book review/recommendation is not just for Christmas: it’s for life.

Happy festive season everyone!

About Angela Savage

Angela Savage is a Melbourne-based crime writer, who has lived and travelled extensively in Asia. Her first novel, Behind the Night Bazaar won the 2004 Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an unpublished manuscript. She is a winner of the Scarlet Stiletto Award and has thrice been shortlisted for Ned Kelly awards. Her third novel, The Dying Beach, was also shortlisted for the 2014 Davitt Award. Angela teaches writing and is currently studying for her PhD in Creative Writing at Monash University.
This entry was posted in Angela Savage, Reviews & Interviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to How crime writers get into the Christmas spirit

  1. Angela – Oh, yes, no doubt about it! Nothing makes a writer happier than someone taking the time to help spread the good word about her or his work. Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

    • angelasavage says:

      Margot, you are among THE BEST when it comes to spreading the word about writers and their work. I’ve discovered some great reads through you and have been privileged to have my work on the receiving end of your generous promotion. A special festive season and heartfelt THANK YOU.

      Like

  2. Bernadette says:

    I’m sorry my politics stops me spreading the word at the behemoth that is Amazon but old fashioned word of mouth still works – if a bit more slowly. A lady at work – who had seen me reading The Dying Beach at a nearby cafe one morning – just told me that she not only bought it but the earlier two books too because they looked so lovely all together 🙂

    I won’t ask for more recommendations – I’ve still got a list of things you’ve recommended here and on RN – am even tempted to give Dennis Lehane another go though I’ve previously thought him most overrated 🙂

    Like

    • angelasavage says:

      Bernadette, you already do so much for Australian crime writers like me. No need to apologise for taking a principled stance on Amazon (sadly, rumour has it, the more reviews you have there, the easier it is to sell international rights). And I couldn’t agree more about word of mouth. In fact, I will go back and edit this post to that effect.

      Here’s wishing you a happy festive season and another wonderful year of reading in 2014.

      Like

  3. kathy d. says:

    Congratulations for The Dying Beach being included on these top crime reads for 2013. It deserves that recognition.
    I’ll do my part and write more rave reviews.
    And, yes, the covers together make a lovely set.

    Like

    • angelasavage says:

      Kathy, like Margot and Bernadette, you already do so much to promote my work. I’m grateful not only for the wonderful reviews you have taken the time to write and post online, but for the comments you leave on other blogs about my novels – the hi-tech equivalent of word of mouth.

      I would be happy to reciprocate by sending you any of those Australian books you are burning to read but can’t buy locally – just let me know 🙂

      Like

  4. kathy d. says:

    Thanks, Angela, for your kind offer. I would probably enter into a Faustian bargain to access all mysteries, and other fiction written by women in Oz. There is not one book I wouldn’t recommend, well, one, which I think I heard you reviewing on a radio show. But that’s it.
    Otherwise, Oz crime fiction rocks! So, I couldn’t choose, but I appreciate your generosity.
    I’ll think about it.
    Hope you and the 7-year-old reader have a great holiday.
    I’ve got a 7-year-old nearby for whom I’m buying some books and her 3-year-old brother. What fun it is to think about what children would want to read.

    Like

  5. dominios says:

    continuously i used to read smaller content that also clear their
    motive, and that is also happening with this post which I am
    reading at this place.

    Like

What do you think?

