The secret is (almost) out

295605_515166948524990_706521984_nThe Australian Crime Writers’ Association has released a teaser for its new publication, irresistibly entitled, If I Tell You…I’ll Have To Kill You: Australia’s Leading Crime Writers Reveal Their Secrets.

This collection of musings on writing crime and crime writing is described by ACWA as ‘a book for fans and wannabe writers and people who love the genre…full of wonderful anecdotes and insights, along with some great reading lists.’

I’m thrilled to bits to be one of the contributing authors, alongside some of my favourite Australian crime writers, mentors and peers. Contributors (as visible on the cover) include Garry Disher, Katherine Howell, Barry Maitland, Malla Nunn, Kerry Greenwood, Shane Maloney, Tara Moss, Gabrielle Lord, Peter Corris and Geoffrey McGeachin, as well as Marele Day and yours truly. The collection is edited by crime writer Michael Robotham.

If I Tell You…I’ll Have To Kill You will be published by Allen and Unwin in August 2013 and is designed to raise funds to support the annual Ned Kelly Awards for Australian crime writing. As both my novels to date have been shortlisted for a ‘Neddy’ — Behind the Night Bazaar for Best First Book and The Half-Child for Best Fiction — I was happy for the opportunity to give something back.

In addition to a short essay on how I ended up writing crime, my contribution includes my 10 Rules for Writing (I’ve called them ‘Reminders to Myself’) and a list of five must-read crime books. Keeping to five was the hardest part of the exercise. And it’s debatable as to whether or not I succeeded.

But enough clues. All will be revealed on publication in August. If I tell you any more now, I’ll have to kill you…

 

 

About Angela Savage

Angela Savage is a Melbourne-based crime writer, who has lived and travelled extensively in Asia. Her first novel, Behind the Night Bazaar won the 2004 Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an unpublished manuscript. She is a winner of the Scarlet Stiletto Award and has thrice been shortlisted for Ned Kelly awards. Her third novel, The Dying Beach, was also shortlisted for the 2014 Davitt Award. Angela teaches writing and is currently studying for her PhD in Creative Writing at Monash University.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The secret is (almost) out

  1. Angela – Oh, please don’t kill me… ;-). But seriously, I want this book and I’m extremely happy for you that you’ll be a part of it. Thanks for sharing the good news!

    Like

  2. Haydn Savage says:

    Angela,th idea of this book is so original.A must read for me Haydn Savage

    Like

  3. kathy d. says:

    This looks like a great book. I hope we crime fictions fiends over in the States can get a copy somehow. We’ll be looking for it.

    Like

  4. kathy d. says:

    Angela, I know you will notify your blog’s readers when this book comes out. Then we can try to find it over here or at the Book Depository or even ordering it from Australia. Sometimes a book just must be purchased and the cost incurred. We are crime fiction readers, after all, always on the hunt for a good book.
    With so many authors whom I adore in this book, I will purchase it wherever it is, and pass it on to friends.

    Like

    • angelasavage says:

      Will be sure to let you know when and where it’s available, Kathy. The proceeds will be used to support Australia’s top crime writing awards, the Ned Kelly Awards, named for our most (in)famous bush ranger.

      Like

What do you think?

