Jump cuts

I’m excited to announce that my short story ‘The Teardrop Tattoos’, has been shortlisted for the 2011 Sisters in Crime Scarlet Stiletto Awards.

The story is a change of pace for me. Unlike my novels, which are set in Thailand, with ‘The Teardrop Tattoos’ I set myself the challenge of writing something closer to home, turning what Sophie Cunningham calls a tourist’s eye on my own suburb in Melbourne’s inner north, where black-clad widows rule the streets and people knit covers for bicycle stands and signposts.

‘The Teardrop Tattoo’ is inadvertently topical, the plot involving a restricted breed dog. I submitted it for the competition only weeks before four-year-old Ayen Chol was tragically killed in an attack by a pit bull terrier, prompting the Victorian State Government to strengthen laws on restricted breeds.

The Scarlet Stiletto winners will be announced at an event on 25 November 2011 at The Rising Sun Hotel in South Melbourne. Details here.

In other news, though I’ve yet to read an e-book, my latest novel the Half-Child is now available in e-book format at Kobo BooksBooktopia and in Kindle Version on Amazon. 

A chance meeting on a flight to Sydney last week found me swapping life stories with Kiwi-born personal trainer Anita Clarke, who was on her way to New York to run the marathon. Within days Anita told me she was reading The Half-Child, having downloaded it from Amazon. Wouldn’t have happened if she’d had to rely on an airport bookshop for a copy.

Now if Santa brings me the Christmas gift I’m asking for, I’ll get to experience first-hand what all the fuss is about…

Finally, I’m chairing a session at The Wheeler Centre called Above the Law featuring barrister/media watchdog/crime fiction author Stuart Littlemore and ex-cop/West Africanmusic afficianado/crime fiction author PM Newton this Thursday 10 November 2011. Free event but bookings recommended.

 

About Angela Savage

Angela Savage is a Melbourne-based crime writer, who has lived and travelled extensively in Asia. Her first novel, Behind the Night Bazaar won the 2004 Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an unpublished manuscript. She is a winner of the Scarlet Stiletto Award and has thrice been shortlisted for Ned Kelly awards. Her third novel, The Dying Beach, was also shortlisted for the 2014 Davitt Award. Angela teaches writing and is currently studying for her PhD in Creative Writing at Monash University.
This entry was posted in Sisters in Crime and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jump cuts

  1. Diana says:

    There are no English-language bookshops where I live and I was dependent on snail mail to deliver me anything not available from book swapping with friends. I was robbed of the mail facility so am now an e-book convert. One bonus I hadn’t thought of in advance is you can adjust the font to the size on an e-reader, throw away the reading glasses and lie back on the couch in any old position. Just need to get Australian fiction released into the international market faster…

    I was recently at a book launch – of the old-fashioned kind – and as my friend signed my book I wondered how this will work when we don’t have paper books. Special edition paper books for signing only? Front covers only? No signing?

    Congratulations on being short-listed, Angela!

    Like

    • angelasavage says:

      Hey Diana,

      Rumour has it someone has invented an app for inserting e-signatures into e-books. It was only a matter of time.

      Thanks for your message and love to you xxx

      Like

What do you think?

