Chasing Odysseus: a new review

I am delighted to introduce 12-year-old Paul Johnson as a guest reviewer on this blog. Paul’s first review is of Chasing Odysseus by Sulari Gentill. I sent the book to Paul, whom I knew to be a fan of ancient Greek mythology, after I reviewed it last month. Here is his take.

Sulari’s “Chasing Odysseus” recommended to me by Angela Savage.

As this is my first ever public review I am not sure if I am heading down the right track!!  I thought the book was hard to get into at the start but it was soon making sense.  In the first 5 chapters the war began and it surprisingly launched into a blood thirsty battle.

What I didn’t like was Scamandrios whipping Machaon and saying that the herdsmen betrayed Troy, because it seemed so unfair when the herdsmen saved as many people as they could. The 3 brothers and their sister set out on their journey to find out what actually happened for the Greeks to get into the walls of Troy.

The ultimate journey is to find Odysseus and there are many tasks ahead of them.There are so many stories that I find it hard to remember them all, just as I finished one story there was another and another filled with peril.

Sulari, I would like to say that there was a monster that said all men were horrible, jealous and unkind and could never be trusted which I think is harsh!!  Some of us are ok!

Overall I loved this book and maybe when I am a bit older and revisit the book I will understand more meanings of the more ‘mature’ aspects of the book which I struggled to understand this time around. Thank you for the opportunity to read and review this fabulous book.  I have now reserved the original “Odyssey” at our local library and look forward to seeing many more books written by Sulari and recommended by Angela.

by Paul Johnson

About Angela Savage

Angela Savage is a Melbourne-based crime writer, who has lived and travelled extensively in Asia. Her first novel, Behind the Night Bazaar won the 2004 Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an unpublished manuscript. She is a winner of the Scarlet Stiletto Award and has thrice been shortlisted for Ned Kelly awards. Her third novel, The Dying Beach, was also shortlisted for the 2014 Davitt Award. Angela teaches writing and is currently studying for her PhD in Creative Writing at Monash University.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chasing Odysseus: a new review

  1. suse says:

    Great review Paul, thanks! I have a 12 year old boy who loves Greek mythology too and on your recommendation I will be buying this book for him. I hope he loves it as much as you did.

    Like

  2. What a wonderful review, Paul…thank you. I’m so glad you enjoyed Chasing Odysseus. Please be assured that the monster Scylla’s opinion of men was hers alone, and not shared by the author in any way – I rather like you blokes. 🙂

    Cheers

    Sulari

    Like

What do you think?

