Summer reading

The Half-Child has gone electric, the eBook version released just in time for Christmas. You can buy it at Kobo Books or through Borders. A Kindle version will follow in a few months.

Don’t you love that I sound like I know what I’m talking about in that opening paragraph? The irony of having published an eBook while never having actually read an eBook is not lost on me. Still, I am very excited about the advent of The Half-Child as an eBook, not least of all because it presents a means by which the novel should become available and affordable for markets in Southeast Asia. Watch this space.

The Half-Child has made the ‘recommended summer reading’/’books I hope will appear in my Christmas stocking’ lists for a couple of the Sisters in Crime. Check out all their lists for quality women’s crime fiction and Australian women’s crime fiction in particular.

The Sisters wrote their lists in response to Graeme Blundell’s recommended cache of crime books for this summer, which featured no women and few Australians. My own list, based on books I’ve enjoyed this year, sits somewhere between the two. Much of my reading for 2010 was structured around authors I was interviewing or appearing on panels with. I’m following the Sisters’ lead in sticking to 5 (a tough call) and specifying those written by Australian authors. Not all were released in 2010. Lists are in alphabetical order.

Angela’s recommended summer reading (crime)

This Song is You – Megan Abbott

Wyatt – Garry Disher (Australian)

A Few Right Thinking Men – Sulari Gentill (Australian)

Gunshot Road – Adrian Hyland (Australian)

Line of Sight – David Whish-Wilson (Australian)

On my summer reading pile (all genres)

Queenpin – Megan Abbott

Started early, took my dog – Kate Atkinson

Out of the Black Land – Kerry Greenwood (Australian)

Lunatic in my head – Anjum Hasan

Sustenance – Simone Lazaroo (Australian)

Wish-list

The Family Law – Benjamin Law (Australian)

If you can’t stand the heat – Judy Horacek (Australian)

Feel free to add your own recommendations in the comments section at the end of this post.

About Angela Savage

Angela Savage is a Melbourne-based crime writer, who has lived and travelled extensively in Asia. Her first novel, Behind the Night Bazaar won the 2004 Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an unpublished manuscript. She is a winner of the Scarlet Stiletto Award and has thrice been shortlisted for Ned Kelly awards. Her third novel, The Dying Beach, was also shortlisted for the 2014 Davitt Award. Angela teaches writing and is currently studying for her PhD in Creative Writing at Monash University.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer reading

  1. andrewnette says:

    Really agree with the Abbott and Disher choices. I’ll have to get to work on my own list.

    Like

  2. I’m reading Started Early, Took My Dog right now actually and really enjoying it – it’s got a real depth to it, and I love the breadth of vocabulary Atkinson utilises.

    Like

What do you think?

