Karaoke competition

Second advance

Here’s a karaoke competition with a difference. I need help to find a song to feature in a karaoke scene at the end of my second novel, which — fingers crossed — I’ll have a title for by this time next week. (That’s me with my advance cheque from Text on the right: how sweet it is to be paid to write).

I had a song in mind but unfortunately fell 18.75% short of the 100% rights I needed to publish the lyrics. Despite my best efforts — and the help of agents in Australia and the Netherlands — I just couldn’t get all the ducks lined up. It seems different companies can own shares in the same song; in this case, one company owned a 62.5% share and another owned the remaining 37.5%, which in turn was managed by branches in two different countries. One branch said yes, the other said no. Them’s the breaks I guess.

I’m finding it hard to re-imagine the scene without the song I’ve chosen, so I’m running a competition to find an alternative. The person who comes up with the best suggestion will be acknowledged in the new book, receive a free signed copy upon publication (release date Sept 2010), and have the option of naming a character in the next novel. Here are the criteria:

  • The lyrics need to be in English.
  • The song needs to be romantic/heroic in sentiment, along the lines of I’d climb mountains/cross deserts/slay dragons/die for you (you get the idea).
  • It must have been released before 1997.
  • It must have been popular at the time and well known around the world – nothing obscure.
  • It needs to be something a man would sing to a woman.
  • No theme songs from films.
  • Preference will be given to songs where one company owns 100% publishing rights; bonus points if you find out who owns the copyright.
  • Competition closes 10 pm next Wed 27 Jan 2010.

Entries should be left as comments at the bottom of this post. First in, best dressed (i.e. don’t suggest a song that someone else has already nominated). Judges’ decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into. Bribing me by leaving nice bottles of wine on the doorstep won’t work but is worth a try.

About Angela Savage

Angela Savage is a Melbourne-based crime writer, who has lived and travelled extensively in Asia. Her first novel, Behind the Night Bazaar won the 2004 Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an unpublished manuscript. She is a winner of the Scarlet Stiletto Award and has thrice been shortlisted for Ned Kelly awards. Her third novel, The Dying Beach, was also shortlisted for the 2014 Davitt Award. Angela teaches writing and is currently studying for her PhD in Creative Writing at Monash University.
This entry was posted in Angela Savage, Books, Works in progress, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Karaoke competition

  1. sooz says:

    Yeah, good luck! Sadly I am totally not your woman for this job, hope you find someone who fits the bill!

    Like

  2. Ange, Try this link.

    http://www.links2love.com/love_lyrics_23.htm

    If no good, the site will have lots more ideas!

    Andrea x

    Like

  3. Andrea de Carvalho says:

    Benj (the karaoke king) said there’s an Enrique Iglasias song “Iwant to be your hero” but I think it’s too recent. Not sure if this is an original or been sung by someone else previously???

    This link is to same website as previous post but with further ideas:-
    http://www.links2love.com/love_song_appropro.htm

    Like

  4. Andrea de Carvalho says:

    Ain’t No Mountain High Enough?

    http://www.links2love.com/love_lyrics_388.htm

    Like

  5. Andrea de Carvalho says:

    I’m supposed to be working – can you tell!

    I’m sure you’ve googled many times but this is an exhaustive list of love songs from the same site and then I’m out ………. for now!!!!!!!!!!

    Good luck! xx

    Like

  6. Andrea de Carvalho says:

    Oops forgot link:-

    http://www.links2love.com/love_lyrics.htm

    Bye for now 😉

    Like

  7. kirsten says:

    well ‘i do it for you’ by Bryan Adams came to mind on reading your criteria but maybe that’s what you’ve had all the trouble with already? i seem to remember some mention of his name a while back…how about ‘i’d die for you’ by Bon Jovi. good scope as a karaoke number but not sure how to find out about copyright sorry…you know who you need to get onto this? one of those Spicks and Specks folk (also both on 774 these days), Myf or Alan, they both seem to have pretty spectacular song knowledge.
    much luck to you ladio, so exciting that the book is nearly done!
    x K

    Like

  8. Andrea de Carvalho says:

    Dave recommends “I’ll stand by you” sung by Chrissie Hyndes (now used in whaling commercial.

    Olivia wants a starring role in the movie if any one of use deCa’s comes up with THE song!

    Like

  9. Rachel Boston says:

    Hi Angela,

    okay…I’m going to jump in with some shots in the dark for your consideration.
    Karaoke addict that I am. if you didn’t already know, now you do.

    My first suggestion is “Come Rain or Come Shine” which is a Sarah Vaughan song but which has been recorded by many many people including judy garland. it might not seem like a song a man would sing to a woman but Rufus Wainwright did a good job in his Rufus Does Judy concert 2007 which you can find on Youtube. It is so old it may be public domain not sure. maybe too obscure for those not into jazz ….lyrics are I’m going to love you like nobody’s loved you, come rain or come shine, high as a mountain and deep as the river come rain or come shine…

    Second suggestion is Crazy Love by Van Morrison – also covered by loads of people – a straight out romantic song – not so much of the I’d do anything for you…

    Love me tender – by Elvis of course – would also be on the straight romantic side and universally known.

    Finally, (They long to be) close to you – Burt Bacharach and Hal David – famously and perhaps destructively done by the Carpenters in the 70’s but also by Sinatra and others since.

    I’ll keep thinking on it – I guess until next Wednesday!!!
    Good luck with the final polish,
    Rachel

    Like

  10. Helen Morgan says:

    Off the top of my head, I’m thinking Skatt Brothers, “Life at the Outpost” (you know, with those lyrics – “Give your love to a cowboy man, he’s gonna love you as hard as he can”!

    @Sooz – you make me laugh!

    Like

  11. darkdirk says:

    OK here’s a few ideas:
    Keep On Loving You by REO Speedwagon
    If I Could by 1927 (maybe not an international hit though)
    Up Where We Belong by Joe Cocker and Jessica Warne
    When a Man Loves a Woman by Percy Sledge
    More Than A Feeling by Boston
    All I Need is The Air That I Breathe by The Hollies
    Then there’s the Air Supply trifecta: Every Woman in the World, The One That You Love, or Even The Nights Are Better

    That’s all I can think of for now

    Like

  12. darkdirk says:

    Oh! Also Time in a Bottle by Jim Crocé

    Like

  13. Nikki says:

    Damn it Helen, you stole my suggestion!

    Heroes by David Bowie. I saw someone sing that in a Karaoke bar and it went off!

    Like

  14. Fran says:

    How about ‘Slave to Love’- Bryan Ferry. Could be sung REALLY BADLY at karaoke, and you still get to tick the Bryan box…..

    Like

  15. Fran says:

    have to say though, I think darkdirk is mining a sweet seam…..

    Like

  16. Nikki says:

    Marcia Hines/Dusty Springfield – Your love still brings me to my knees
    Bread – Lost Without Your Love
    And of course – Bette Midler – Wind Beneath My Wings

    Like

  17. Nikki says:

    They just keep poping into my head!

    Glory of Love by Peter Cetera

    I am a man who would fight for your honor
    I’ll be the hero you’ve been dreaming of
    We’ll live forever knowing together
    That we did it all for the glory of love

    It’s like a knight in shining armor
    From a long time ago
    Just in time I will save the day
    Take you to my castle far away

    Like

  18. Jodie McKee Lavallee says:

    What do you think of these two options. I have a ton of ideas!!

    Someone Like You, by Van Morrison

    or

    Can’t Help Falling in Love, by UB40

    or

    shoot, I was gong to suggest Ne Me Quitte Pas by Toots Thielemans but it’s not English!!

    Good luck my friend,

    Your American friend and Fan,

    Jodie

    Like

  19. Palani Narayanan says:

    Darling,

    how about Cant Fight This Feeling by REO Speedwagon. Very popular Karaoke song in Asia and has an hero saying he cant fight!
    Good Luck!

    Like

  20. Lanie Chopping says:

    How about – Aint No Mountain High Enough – Marvin Gaye / Diana Ross or the Barnsey version http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ain't_No_Mountain_High_Enough

    or

    I would do anything for love – Meatloaf

    And now I have to go and do some work – but I’m on the job and will enlist support from colleagues over lunch to see what I can come up with.

    These suggestions should not go to waste – I’m thinking Karaoke theme for book launch! 🙂

    Like

  21. Stephanie says:

    Aint no mountain high enough – Marvin Gaye

    Like

  22. darkdirk says:

    It’s right off theme, but the greatest ever karaoke song is of course Bohemian Rhapsody

    Like

    • angelasavage says:

      The greatest Oz rock karaoke song is ‘Throw your arms around me’, but neither this nor ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’ are likely to be sung by my character in a karaoke bar in rural Thailand…

      Like

  23. khim says:

    Angela, I’d do anything to get a signed copy of your second novel. Hope the following helps:

    1. “I’ll be there” by Michael Jackson

    http://www.lyricsmode.com/lyrics/m/michael_jackson/ill_be_there.html

    2. “I promise you” by Michael Bolton

    http://www.michaelboltonmusic.co.uk/music/greatest-hits-1985-1995?c=discography&list=12

    P.S. quel est ton vins préféré ?

    Like

  24. Rebecca Bradford says:

    My beloved has suggested “I’m gonna be (500 miles)” by the Proclaimers. It is a karaoke classic, pretty well known and although I originally had my doubts the lyrics are fitting with your theme. Not sure if it really has the sort of romantic vibe you were hoping for though. All I could think of was “You got it” by Roy Orbison, which I can’t imagine really blowing people away in a karaoke bar. It’s a shame you can’t go with Bryan Adams though, we got right into that song at my birthday last year and the film clip they had knocked together for it was hilarious!

    Good luck!

    Like

  25. Kate Johnson says:

    i love the 90’s

    tina turner – simply the best
    taylor dane – I’ll be your shelter
    prince – I would die for you or diamonds and pearls
    inxs – never tear us apart
    oasis – wonderwall
    bon jovi – always
    all for one – I swear
    rod stewart – sailing, have I told you lately that I love you

    I am not done – but I have work to do!

    Like

  26. Cisco says:

    Hey Angela

    Gino Vanilli 1987 ‘Wild Horses’.

    The sleeziest and creepiest sexy song from the 80s.

    Lyrics

    As the sun goes down on the arizona plain
    And the wind whistles by like a runaway train
    Hey hey hey it’s a beautiful thing
    Well it’s me and you and a flatbed truck
    My heart kicking over like a whitetail buck
    Hey hey hey in the middle of spring

    You can cut me deep
    You can cut me down
    You can cut me loose
    Don’t you know it’s okay
    You can kick and scream
    You can slap my face
    You can set my wheels on a high speed chase
    Hey no matter what you do

    Wild horses could not drag me away from you
    Wild horses could not drag me away from you

    As the sky falls down from the midnight blue
    Spittin’ like bullets on a hot tin roof
    Hey hey hey it’s a beautiful sound
    Well it’s me and you in a flatbed truck
    In a foot of mud just my luck
    Hey hey hey a hundred miles out of town

    You can call me a fool
    You can call me blind
    You can call it quits
    Can’t hear a word you say
    Cause if I had you once
    I’m gonna have you twice
    I’m gonna follow my heart instead of good advice
    Hey no matter what you do

    Wild horses could not drag me away from you
    Wild horses could not drag me away from you

    Like

  27. Martel says:

    sorry sweet, looks like i’m too late to enter (plus someone’s already suggested my favourite artist, yes I would have said David Bowie you know that!!!) just wanted to say hi! can’t wait to hear who the winner is – no doubt you’re contemplating it now over one of the many bottles of wine left on your door step!!!

    Like

  28. Pingback: Editing, my lovely « Angela Savage

  29. Pingback: The Half-Child launched « Angela Savage

  30. Pingback: Naming names « Angela Savage

What do you think?

