For love not money

Royalty chequeAt the risk of being gauche, here is a photo of my first ever royalty cheque.

It’s two years since Behind the Night Bazaar was published and this is the first time I’ve gone into the black with my publisher, Text, due largely to an advance (in Euros) for the German edition.

I am thrilled to bits.

And while on the subject of Nachtmarkt (German title of my novel), I received some copies while in Melbourne recently and they had a sticker on the front that said ‘Geht’s Nicht Thriller Das Monats’. I get that someone in Germany nominated it as a ‘Thriller of the Month’. I can only hope it’s their equivalent of Oprah!

Now when I fill in official forms, next to ‘profession’ I can put ‘writer’ and feel like I’ve earned it.

About Angela Savage

Angela Savage is a Melbourne-based crime writer, who has lived and travelled extensively in Asia. Her first novel, Behind the Night Bazaar won the 2004 Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an unpublished manuscript. She is a winner of the Scarlet Stiletto Award and has thrice been shortlisted for Ned Kelly awards. Her third novel, The Dying Beach, was also shortlisted for the 2014 Davitt Award. Angela teaches writing and is currently studying for her PhD in Creative Writing at Monash University.
This entry was posted in Angela Savage, Behind the Night Bazaar, Books, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to For love not money

  1. Wellum Hulder says:

    Wow! I am super happy for you. You must feel like things are finally (and thankfully) happening for you. I wish I was in your seat. I’ve been writing but too scared to put it out there (until now) and suffering from feeling that my stuff sucks…

    Wellum Hulder
    thejunkdrawerneedles.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Liz Filleul says:

    Yippee! Great news! What are you spending it on?

    Like

  3. angelasavage says:

    Hi Liz,
    I toyed with the idea of using the money to attend my brother’s wedding in Belgrade in September, but it wasn’t enough to cover both my airfare and one for my two-and-a-half-year-old, whom I can’t leave with her father at that time because he’s busy with a Finnish film crew in Cambodia (long story). So I guess I’ll just do what we writers always do: use the royalties to subsidise the writing of the next book!

    Like

What do you think?

