123 meme

Damien at Crime Down Under has tagged me to take part in the latest meme that’s doing the rounds. I haven’t done this one before, so here goes.

Here are the meme rules:

1. Pick up the nearest book.
2. Open it to page 123.
3. Find the fifth sentence.
4. Post the next three sentences.
5. Tag five people, and acknowledge who tagged you.

Unusually for me, I’m reading non-fiction at the moment: an illustrated hardcover book about popular culture in Thailand called Very Thai by Philip Cornwel-Smith with photographs by John Goss (2008 ed). For someone who sets their novels in Thailand, it’s a fantastic resource and a fascinating read.

Page 123 brings us to a chapter called ‘Cute – The subculture of cartoon mascots’. Sentences 6, 7 & 8 read:

Now Thai crafts have gone pop: fruit carving evolved into soap carving, Buddhist rock gardens into table-top fountains with dinky figurines. The shortage of timber forced wood carvings smaller, which suited the booming demand in sourvenirs and knick-knacks for tourists and locals with spare cash. Youngsters cruise markets with friends wanting to buy something, anything, under 200 baht, which invariably ends up being small and cute.

I’m forced to break the meme rules at this point as I just don’t have that many friends with blogs, and I know Sooz has already done this one. So I tag Helen Morgan and Bernard Caleo.

About Angela Savage

Angela Savage is a Melbourne-based crime writer, who has lived and travelled extensively in Asia. Her first novel, Behind the Night Bazaar won the 2004 Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an unpublished manuscript. She is a winner of the Scarlet Stiletto Award and has thrice been shortlisted for Ned Kelly awards. Her third novel, The Dying Beach, was also shortlisted for the 2014 Davitt Award. Angela teaches writing and is currently studying for her PhD in Creative Writing at Monash University.
This entry was posted in Angela Savage, Books, Meme, Thailand. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 123 meme

  1. Helen Morgan says:

    I feel sure I’ve done this, and at the time I was reading a book on CSS! Clearly not done on my blog though. So here goes again!

    I am currently reading non fiction too – Richard Rutt’s A History of Hand Knitting.

    Stockings were the principal garments made in the Dales, as they were everywhere else. Next in importance were the gloves. The patterns of the extant gloves in various collections and museums show marked similarities to the gloves of Sanquhar.

    I like the man’s style!

    I don’t know too many people who’d do this/blog, so I’m breaking the meme too 🙂

    Like

  2. Nimrod says:

    Nimrod says : I absolutely agree with this !

    Like

What do you think?

