I’d like to thank…

In her article ‘Last but not least‘ in the A2 section of The Age, Caroline Baum accuses novelists who say thank you at the end of their novels guilty of: false modesty; being excessive in their confession(s) and/or public displays of emotion; overkill; unnecessarily displaying their academic credentials at the expense of trusting in their imagination; slyly trying to burnish their own prestige by association; (potential) breaches of etiquette; and even ‘bad taste’ when it comes to dedications.

Despite being one of those novelists Baum disapproves of whose acknowledgments run to one-and-a-half pages, I enjoyed her article. It was witty, erudite, opinionated and revealing – qualities which, funnily enough, I associate with a good set of acknowledgments or author’s note in the novels I read. I like what these ostensibly gratuitous parts of a book tell me about an author. And in at least one case – Alice Walker’s Possessing the Secret of Joy – I found a gem in the author’s notes that will stay with me forever.

Like author Christopher Coake cited in her article, I thanked lots of people at the end of my book because: a) they’d provided real practical and/or moral support to me as a writer; and b) in the event that Behind the Night Bazaar is my one and only chance at publication, I might never get the chance to thank these people again (though sincerely I hope that’s not the case).

There’s another dimension to this for me. I feel I have limited opportunities for expressing my love and gratitude in a public arena. Aside from 40th birthday speeches and the odd wedding toast, where else can I go on the record and celebrate the love and support of family and friends?

Besides, I’m not an artist-in-a-cold-garret kind of writer who considers their art to be a product of splendid isolation. I acknowledge that for me to be a writer, I am indebted to the support of a range of people…

At least, that’s how it was when writing the first book. I’m currently working on the sequel and although I’m halfway through the first draft, no one else has seen it yet. At this point in the first novel, my partner Andrew had read every chapter at least once, and I’d already roped in a couple of friends as critical readers.

Along these lines, I have a theory that the more books an author publishes, the shorter the acknowledgments become – a reflection of a writer’s increasing self-confidence (as Charlotte Wood suggests in the Baum article), and a corresponding diminution of panic about the prospect that the opportunity to express one’s gratitude may never present itself again.

Of course this only applies for authors like me who desire to thank people in the first place. Many do not. That is their prerogative. But I will always be grateful to friends and family who support me as a writer. And I will relish the opportunity to thank them whenever I can.

In this spirit, to those mentioned on pages 291-292 of Behind the Night Bazaar, thanks again.

About Angela Savage

Angela Savage is a Melbourne-based crime writer, who has lived and travelled extensively in Asia. Her first novel, Behind the Night Bazaar won the 2004 Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an unpublished manuscript. She is a winner of the Scarlet Stiletto Award and has thrice been shortlisted for Ned Kelly awards. Her third novel, The Dying Beach, was also shortlisted for the 2014 Davitt Award. Angela teaches writing and is currently studying for her PhD in Creative Writing at Monash University.
This entry was posted in Publications, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’d like to thank…

  1. Christopher Coake says:

    Hey Angela–many thanks.

    Like

  2. angelasavage says:

    Hi Christopher, I enjoyed reading about your rebuttal of Ian Jack’s critique of your acknowledgments in the article I referred to on my blog. It was a relief to know someone else felt the same way. Death to the ‘stiff upper lip’, I say!

    Like

  3. Helen Morgan says:

    Hear hear (or is that here here?)! When I read that article I thought of you Angela. Agree with everything you’ve said above.

    In addition, my own publishing experience, if authors Jeremy Seal and Deborah Cadbury hadn’t thanked their agents in their acknowledgments, and I hadn’t twigged that two authors I really liked had the same agent who might therefore be worth approaching, I’d never have found my agent and surely never have been published.

    Like

What do you think?

