Happy Birthday ‘Night Bazaar’

My novel Behind the Night Bazaar turned one this week–on 5th June to be precise. During my author’s talk at the Ascot Vale Library someone in the audience asked a question that made me realise it was a year since the book was published, bringing back great memories of the launch at Readings.

It is also timely that during a random search of my notebooks recently I found what I believe are my first notes for what became Behind the Night Bazaar–though at that point it had no name and was only aspiring to be a short story. The notes are dated 11/05/99 and were written during a visit to Chiang Mai.First notes
Inspired by my friend Helen Morgan’s photos of her early notes for Blue Mauritius, I took the above photo. Enlarged, it is clear enough to read my handwriting. Some of my original notes made it into the final publication almost untouched, such as the description of the bars behind the Night Bazaar (see pp.20-21), although Jayne’s friend ‘Troy’ became Didier. Plus I’d like to think the final version is less didactic than these notes.

Interesting that Helen’s photo/notes show her thinking about a short story at first, too. Is this because we can only dare to dream in small pieces?

About Angela Savage

Angela Savage is a Melbourne-based crime writer, who has lived and travelled extensively in Asia. Her first novel, Behind the Night Bazaar won the 2004 Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an unpublished manuscript. She is a winner of the Scarlet Stiletto Award and has thrice been shortlisted for Ned Kelly awards. Her third novel, The Dying Beach, was also shortlisted for the 2014 Davitt Award. Angela teaches writing and is currently studying for her PhD in Creative Writing at Monash University.
This entry was posted in Behind the Night Bazaar, Books, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Birthday ‘Night Bazaar’

  1. Helen Morgan says:

    I wonder Angela. I must ask Jill (My Desert Kingdom) if that’s how she started out too, thinking small.

    I was one of the most hopeless at producing words in my non-fiction class at RMIT back in 2002, by which I mean churning out the required word length for assessment, and working consistently on writing and having something to show every week. I remember being in awe of people who could envisage something longer than a short story… even though to take that class I had to have been thinking I could do something more substantial.

    Sometimes I wonder how I did it – take that step to believing that it could be more. And now with not a moment to spare (except for the occasional email and web surf) because of baby Iris I despair of it ever happening again. Although one thing she has already taught me is to seize the day when you can and to quote (unfortunately) a well known producer of shoes – just DO IT! Is it as simple (and hard-fought) as that?

    Like

What do you think?

